Marcela Pavia – Max E. Keller: Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, David Zinman, Duo46, Trio Flair, Quadriga Bassoon Ensemble, W. Bärtschi, L. Cella, E. Flückiger, VJ Gloor, M. Gould, G. Kanasevich, P. Kleemola

17,99 

+ Freeshipping
Item number: NEOS 11121 Category:
Published on: October 14, 2011

infotext:

Music by Marcela Pavia and Max E. Keller

Despite their different origins, the music of Marcela Pavia and Max E. Keller is characterized by uncompromising clarity of expression, which does not shy away from hard cuts and aggressive gestures, but at the same time works with subtle and innovatively designed timbres. No non-binding arbitrariness: it is about inner necessity and truthfulness, often articulated in insistent, penetrating repetitions with developing variations. Taboos of the avant-garde, such as avoiding a noticeable pulse, are questioned or even made a topic.

Marcela Pavia

Except Nayla all the works on this CD were created recently as commissioned works by the performers who also recorded them. Their musical language has one thing in common: the exploration of timbre in different ways. Certain textures are used in terms of complex sounds and various manifestations of resonance, resulting in a mixture of intervals and spectral fields. This in turn yields a multitude of poetic meanings. Sound generates form on both a micro and macro level.

Sometimes complex sounds create a regular pulse, they can even in a solo work like Nayla emerge as tempo and linear polyphony create a unique spectrum, allowing the listener to perceive ripples and bands of vibration phenomenologically. On the other hand, resonance, which evokes different levels of perception, makes audible the agreement or discrepancy between resonance (the tones that continue to ring and thus become the spectrum) and linear motion. Other characteristic similarities concern the gestural importance of 'sound objects', but also their significance as a moment in real time. The formal development is often spiral, characterized by strong rhythmic movement, obsessive syntactic figures and recurring groups of tones.

Flair is dedicated to the trio Flair. It is an acronym derived from the consonants of the three performers' surnames (Flückiger/Läderach/Rütsche). The word allows for many different connotations, both in English and in German. Some go well with the ensemble, such as B. natural talent, talent, ability, style, appearance or perceptual acuity and judgment. More generally, it's the flexible nature of the word that reflects the soul of the trio.

Nayla is an ancient Arabic name with a special sound that evokes the name of an ancient deity coming from a distant place. Such and a plethora of other shadow images emanate from this powerful ancestral symbol. Lisa Cella accepted the challenge of a stubborn piece that allows the performer no respite and gives the listener no chance to escape the maelstrom of notes that gradually mature into spectra.

Per and addio based on the third stanza of the poem of the same name by Gabriela Fantato. The composition is dedicated to Esther Flückiger, who – apart from her great musical talent – ​​also knows what the poem is about.

The senders are bifurcan (dedicated to the Duo46) is also a metaphor for the dialectical relationship between two instruments (violin and guitar) as well as for the performers themselves. The otherworldly beauty of Matt Gould's harmonics and the almost proverbial ability of Beth Schneider to modulate bring about a lively dialogue like only she be able to.

The Banshee's Keen is the fourth piece in a cycle whose poetic idea evokes the fairies that live in the British Isles. The treatment of resonance in different ways is the general technical characteristic of the work dedicated to Patrik Kleemola. It is a tribute to his musical talent and empathy.

amancay is the name of an Argentine flower that grows in Patagonia. The piece recalls the rhythmic patterns of folk music for guitar, constantly intertwining with the lines of the clarinet. Dedicated to Matt Gould, it is admirable how he takes on the constant dialectic challenge of clarinetist Gleb Kanasevich with tremendous rhythmic sensitivity.

Marcela Pavia

 

Max E Keller

tenuto, battuto, brilliant for symphony orchestra (2001)
The pulsating rhythm is an archetype in music that the avant-garde has long banished. It became all the more decisive in popular music – the pulse is also essential in the ›swing‹ ​​of jazz. tenuto, battuto, brilliant does not avoid it, but places it in the center, in contrast to the sustained sound. The tenuto emerges in the extreme registers, moves towards the middle as the work progresses, but always retreats to the peripheral regions. The pulsating counter-principle is articulated in rhythmic patterns that range from a delicate, barely audible 'colouring' of sustained sounds to full-sounding tutti, often in multiple overlays. Both poles are designed with the greatest structural and tonal differentiation, whereby the combination of instruments also takes unusual paths. A third basic element are fast, loud running movements, which unexpectedly descend like lightning (fulmine) out of the blue, suddenly immersing the event in a different light.

soliloquy for piano and live electronics (2006)
Today, a machine is increasingly being used as a human being's interlocutor, and this is also the case in soliloquy. A small, digital device is positioned directly on the grand piano and is operated by the pianist himself, mainly with two foot pedals. The device changes, deforms and repeats what the pianist plays on the grand piano, and the pianist in turn intervenes in this transformation of the sound. The pianist's computerized interlocutor is programmed by the composer, he cannot answer freely and is therefore only apparently a partner, rather a alter ego: Soliloquy. The piano part consists of a few, simple basic elements, which vary in ever new constellations and which are set in changing light by the electronics - a circling and yet changing conversation about the same themes and questions.

Five for bassoon quartet (2008)
How can a quartet to the title Five (five) come? The form consists of five basic structures that are repeated five times as a sequence. The time structure superimposed on this form consists of five different durations. However, this only describes the outer grid for the music. The four bassoons mostly act as a collective, reinforcing themselves, multiplying up to multiphonic sounds, complementing each other, expanding, powerfully overlaying each other; at an impetuous pace, in a nervous rush, but also with great calm. And because they work together so intensively, something new emerges, out of the four a fifth.

trio fluido for violin, cello and piano (2009)
There are three very different elements that flow in the broadest sense: sustained sounds, wide-ranging melodies and an often-repeated phrase from Swiss Ländler music. All of these elements are greatly varied and superimposed. The tenuti begin to move, get rhythmic transformations, become noisy. The melodies go into exalted leaps, receive new timbres, atomize into frenzied runs. The trivial Ländler figure turns overly long, is provided with oblique accents, is distorted into the atonal. Occasionally, short, sometimes violent counter-figures appear, from which the improvisational ending is formed, which leads into another world.

Max E Keller

program:

Marcela Pavia (* 1957)

[01] Flair for violin, cello and piano (2009) 07:36
Commissioned by Trio Flair

Trio Flair
Stefan Läderach, violin Emanuel Rütsche, cello Esther Flückiger, piano

[02] Nayla for flute solo (1993) 04:04

Lisa Cella, flute

[03] Per and addio for speakers and piano (2009) 03:35
Dedicated to Esther Flückiger

Valentin Johannes Gloor, speaker · Esther Flückiger, piano

[04] The senders are bifurcan for violin and guitar (2007) 07:17
Commissioned by Duo46

duo46
Beth Schneider, violin Matt Gould, guitar

[05] The Banshee's Keen for guitar solo (2009) 05:35
Commissioned by Patrik Kleemola

Patrick Kleemola, guitar

[06] amancay for clarinet and guitar (2001) 05:50

Gleb Kanasevich, clarinet, Matt Gould, guitar

 

Max E Keller (* 1947)

[07-10] tenuto, battuto, brilliant for symphony orchestra (2001) 14:44
Live recording of the world premiere
Commissioned by the Tonhalle Zurich and supported by the Aargauer Kuratorium

[07] 03:59 p.m
[08] 04:40 p.m
[09] 02:03 p.m
[10] 04:02 p.m

Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich David Zinman, conductor

[11] soliloquy for piano and live electronics (2006) 11:28
Commissioned by the concert series 'Rezital', with funding from the Winterthur Cultural Foundation and the SUISA Foundation for Music

Werner Bärtschi, piano and live electronics

[12] Five for bassoon quartet (2008) 05:56
live recording

Quadriga Bassoon Ensemble
Matthias Racz Michael von Schönermark Elisabeth Goering Douglas Bull

[13] trio fluido for violin, cello and piano (2009) 08:19
Dedicated to Esther Flückiger
Commissioned by Trio Flair with support from the City of Winterthur and the SUISA Foundation

Trio Flair
Stefan Läderach, violin Emanuel Rütsche, cello Esther Flückiger, piano

CD total time: 75:26

Press:


6/2012

[...]
Conclusion: A double portrait of two composers who have kept a certain distance to common spellings and yet articulate themselves in a decidedly contemporary way.

Music: 
Technique: 
Booklets: 

http://www.musikderzeit.de/de_DE/news/newp/show,35275.html

 


no. 93/2012

 


11/2011

Sounds from the stylistic no man's land
New Music on New CDs · Presented by Max Nyffeler

[…] An attractive double portrait of Marcela Pavia and Max E. Keller reveals some similarities despite the differences in their writing styles, especially since the pieces are partly played by the same performers. Both have a penchant for abstraction, rhythmic unruliness and hard contouring of the musical progressions, although the Argentinian operates a little more spontaneously than the more intellectually controlled Swiss. Both also allow a tendency towards the fantastic to shine through - she with a dynamic charge, he with selected timbres and spatial effects, such as in the orchestral piece “tenuto, battuto, fulminante”. […]

Item number

Brand

EAN

Checkout

Marcela Pavia – Max E. Keller: Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, David Zinman, Duo46, Trio Flair, Quadriga Fagott Ensemble, W. Bärtschi, L. Cella, E. Flückiger, V. J. Gloor, M. Gould, G. Kanasevich, P. Kleemola

17,99 

+ Free Shipping
Artikelnummer: NEOS 11121 Kategorie:
Veröffentlicht am: Oktober 14, 2011

Infotext:

Musik von Marcela Pavia und Max E. Keller

Trotz verschiedener Herkunft ist die Musik von Marcela Pavia und Max E. Keller von kompromissloser Klarheit im Ausdruck, die auch vor harten Schnitten und aggressiven Gesten nicht zurückschreckt, aber zugleich mit subtil und innovativ gestalteten Klangfarben arbeitet. Keine unverbindliche Beliebigkeit: Es geht um innere Notwendigkeit und Wahrhaftigkeit, artikuliert öfter in insistierenden, bohrenden Wiederholungen mit entwickelnder Variation. Tabus der Avantgarde wie die Vermeidung des spürbaren Pulses werden hinterfragt oder gar zum Thema gemacht.

Marcela Pavia

Außer Nayla entstanden alle Werke auf dieser CD erst vor kurzem als Auftragswerke der Interpreten, die sie auch eingespielt haben. Ihre musikalische Sprache hat eine Gemeinsamkeit: die Erforschung der Klangfarbe auf unterschiedlichen Wegen. So werden bestimmte Texturen im Sinne komplexer Klänge und verschiedenartiger Erscheinungsformen von Resonanz verwendet, woraus eine Mischung aus Intervallen und spektralen Feldern entsteht. Dies wiederum ergibt eine Vielzahl poetischer Bedeutungen. Klang generiert Form sowohl auf einer Mikro- wie auch auf einer Makro-Ebene.

Manchmal erzeugen komplexe Klänge einen regelmäßigen Puls, sie können sogar in einem Solowerk wie Nayla entstehen, indem Tempo und lineare Polyphonie ein einzigartiges Spektrum hervorbringen, was dem Zuhörer ermöglicht, Wellen und Schwingungsbänder phänomenologisch wahrzunehmen. Andererseits macht die Resonanz, welche verschiedene Stufen der Wahrnehmung hervorruft, die Übereinstimmung oder die Diskrepanz zwischen der Resonanz (die Töne, welche weiterklingen und so zum Spektrum werden) und der linearen Bewegung hörbar. Andere charakteristische Gemeinsamkeiten betreffen die gestische Wichtigkeit von ›Klang-Objekten‹, aber auch deren Bedeutung als Moment in der realen Zeit. Die formale Entwicklung ist oft spiralartig, gekennzeichnet durch starke rhythmische Bewegung, obsessive syntaktische Figuren und wiederkehrende Tongruppen.

Flair ist dem Trio Flair gewidmet. Es ist ein Akronym, das sich aus den Konsonanten der drei Nachnamen der Interpreten (Flückiger/Läderach/Rütsche) herleitet. Das Wort lässt viele unterschiedliche Konnotationen zu, sowohl im Englischen wie auch im Deutschen. Einige passen gut zum Ensemble, wie z. B. Naturtalent, Begabung, Fähigkeit, Stilsicherheit, Auftreten oder Wahrnehmungsschärfe und Urteilskraft. Ganz allgemein ist es eher die flexible Natur dieses Wortes, das die Seele des Trios widerspiegelt.

Nayla ist ein alter arabischer Name mit einem besonderen Klang, der den Namen einer alten Gottheit beschwört, die aus einem fernen Ort kommt. Solche und eine Überfülle anderer Schattenbilder strömen aus diesem mächtigen Ahnen-Symbol. Lisa Cella nahm die Herausforderung eines widerspenstigen Stückes an, das dem Interpreten keine Atempause gestattet und dem Zuhörer keine Chance gibt, dem Strudel von Noten zu entkommen, die allmählich in Spektren ausreifen.

Per un addio basiert auf  der dritten Strophe des gleichlautenden Gedichts von Gabriela Fantato. Die Komposition ist Esther Flückiger gewidmet, die – abgesehen von ihrer großartigen musikalischen Begabung – auch weiß, wovon das Gedicht handelt.

Los senderos que si bifurcan (dem Duo46 gewidmet) ist auch eine Metapher auf die dialektische Beziehung zweier Instrumente (Violine und Gitarre) sowie auf die Interpreten selbst. Die entrückte Schönheit von Matt Goulds Flageoletts und die beinahe sprichwörtliche Modulationsfähigkeit von Beth Schneider bringen einen lebhaften Dialog zustande, wie nur sie es vermögen.

The Banshee’s Keen ist das vierte Stück aus einem Zyklus, dessen poetische Idee jene Feen herbeibeschwört, die auf den Britischen Inseln leben. Die Behandlung der Resonanz in unterschiedlicher Weise ist das allgemeine technische Charakteristikum des Werkes, das Patrik Kleemola gewidmet ist. Es ist eine Hommage auf dessen musikalisches Talent und Einfühlungsvermögen.

Amancay ist der Name einer argentinischen Blume, die in Patagonien wächst. Das Stück erinnert an die rhythmischen Muster der Volksmusik für Gitarre, die sich beständig mit den Linien der Klarinette verstricken. Das Stück ist Matt Gould gewidmet, und es ist bewundernswert, wie er mit enormer rhythmischer Sensibilität die unentwegte dialektische Herausforderung des Klarinettisten Gleb Kanasevich annimmt.

Marcela Pavia

 

Max E. Keller

tenuto, battuto, fulminante für Symphonieorchester (2001)
Der pulsierende Rhythmus ist in der Musik ein Archetypus, den die Avantgarde lange Zeit verbannt hat. Umso bestimmender wurde er in der populären Musik – auch im ›Swing‹ des Jazz ist der Puls wesentlich. tenuto, battuto, fulminante meidet ihn nicht, sondern stellt ihn ins Zentrum, in Kontrast zum ausgehaltenen Klang. Das Tenuto entsteht in den Extremlagen, bewegt sich im Verlauf des Werkes auch gegen die Mitte hin, zieht sich aber immer wieder in die Randregionen zurück. Das pulsierende Gegenprinzip artikuliert sich in rhythmischen Mustern, die von einer zarten, kaum hörbaren ›Färbung‹ der Liegeklänge bis zum vollklingenden Tutti reichen, oft in mehrfacher Überlagerung. Beide Pole sind mit größter struktureller und klanglicher Differenzierung  gestaltet, wobei die Kombination der Instrumente auch ungewöhnliche Wege geht. Ein drittes Grundelement sind rasche, laute Laufbewegungen, die wie Blitze (fulmine) aus heiterem Himmel unerwartet niederfahren, das Geschehen unversehens in ein anderes Licht tauchend.

Selbstgespräche für Klavier und Live-Elektronik (2006)
Immer öfter ist heute eine Maschine der Gesprächspartner des Menschen, so auch in Selbstgespräche. Ein kleines, digitales Gerät ist direkt auf dem Flügel postiert und wird vom Pianisten selber vorwiegend mit zwei Fußpedalen bedient. Das Gerät verändert, verformt und repetiert das, was der Pianist auf dem Flügel spielt, der Pianist wiederum greift seinerseits in diese Klangumformung ein. Der computerisierte Gesprächspartner des Pianisten ist vom Komponisten programmiert, er kann nicht frei antworten und ist somit nur scheinbar ein Partner, eher ein alter ego: Selbstgespräche. Der Klavierpart besteht aus wenigen, einfachen Grundelementen, die sich variiert in immer neue Konstellationen begeben und die durch die Elektronik in wechselndes Licht gesetzt werden – ein in sich kreisendes und doch sich veränderndes Gespräch über die immer gleichen Themen und Fragen.

Cinque für Fagottquartett (2008)
Wie kann ein Quartett zum Titel Cinque (fünf) kommen? Die Form besteht aus fünf Grundstrukturen, die als Sequenz fünfmal wiederholt werden. Die Zeitstruktur, dieser Form überlagert, besteht aus fünf verschiedenen Dauern. Damit ist aber nur der äußere Raster für die Musik beschrieben. Die vier Fagotte agieren zumeist als Kollektiv, sich verstärkend, sich vervielfachend bis zu multiphonen Klängen, sich ergänzend, sich ausweitend, kraftvoll sich überlagernd; in ungestümem Temporitt, in nervöser Hektik, aber auch mit großer Ruhe. Und indem sie derart intensiv zusammenwirken, entsteht etwas Neues, aus den Vieren ein Fünftes.

Trio fluido für Violine, Violoncello und Klavier (2009)
Drei sehr unterschiedliche Elemente sind es, welche im weitesten Sinne fließen: ausgehaltene Klänge, weitgesponnene Melodien und eine oft repetierte Floskel aus Schweizer Ländlermusik. Alle diese Elemente werden stark variiert und überlagert. Die Tenuti beginnen sich zu bewegen, bekommen rhythmische Überformungen, werden geräuschhaft. Die Melodien gehen in exaltierte Sprünge über, erhalten neue Klangfarben, zerstäuben in rasende Läufe. Die triviale Ländlerfigur dreht sich überlang, wird mit schrägen Akzenten versehen, wird ins Atonale verzogen. Gelegentlich tauchen kurze, teils heftige Gegen-figuren auf, aus denen sich der improvisatorische Schluss formt, welcher in eine andere Welt führt.

Max E. Keller

Programm:

Marcela Pavia (*1957)

[01] Flair for violin, violoncello and piano (2009) 07:36
Commissioned by Trio Flair

Trio Flair
Stefan Läderach, violin · Emanuel Rütsche, violoncello · Esther Flückiger, piano

[02] Nayla for flute solo (1993) 04:04

Lisa Cella, flute

[03] Per un addio for speaker and piano (2009) 03:35
Dedicated to Esther Flückiger

Valentin Johannes Gloor, speaker · Esther Flückiger, piano

[04] Los senderos que se bifurcan for violin and guitar (2007) 07:17
Commisssioned by Duo46

Duo46
Beth Schneider, violin · Matt Gould, guitar

[05] The Banshee’s Keen for guitar solo (2009) 05:35
Commissioned by Patrik Kleemola

Patrik Kleemola, guitar

[06] Amancay for clarinet and guitar (2001) 05:50

Gleb Kanasevich, clarinet · Matt Gould, guitar

 

Max E. Keller (*1947)

[07–10] tenuto, battuto, fulminante for symphony orchestra (2001) 14:44
Live Recording of the World Premiere
Commissioned by the Tonhalle Zurich and supported by the Aargauer Kuratorium

[07] 03:59
[08] 04:40
[09] 02:03
[10] 04:02

Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich · David Zinman, conductor

[11] Selbstgespräche for piano and live electronics (2006) 11:28
Commissioned by the concert series ‘Rezital’, with funding from the Winterthur Cultural Foundation and the SUISA Foundation for Music

Werner Bärtschi, piano and live electronics

[12] Cinque for bassoon quartet (2008) 05:56
Live Recording

Quadriga Fagott Ensemble
Matthias Racz · Michael von Schönermark · Elisabeth Göring · Douglas Bull

[13] Trio fluido for violin, violoncello and piano (2009) 08:19
Dedicated to Esther Flückiger
Commissioned by Trio Flair with support from the City of Winterthur and the SUISA Foundation

Trio Flair
Stefan Läderach, violin · Emanuel Rütsche, violoncello · Esther Flückiger, piano

CD total time: 75:26

Pressestimmen:


6/2012

[…]
Fazit: Ein Doppelportrait zweier Komponisten, die sich eine gewisse Distanz zu gängigen Schreibweisen bewahrt haben und sich dennoch dezidiert zeitgenössisch artikulieren.

Musik: 
Technik: 
Booklet: 

http://www.musikderzeit.de/de_DE/news/newp/show,35275.html

 


No. 93/2012

 


11/2011

Klänge aus dem stilistischen Niemandsland
Neue Musik auf neuen CDs · Vorgestellt von Max Nyffeler

[…] Ein reizvolles Doppelporträt von Marcela Pavia und Max E. Keller lässt bei aller Verschiedenheit ihrer Schreibweisen einige Ähnlichkeiten aufscheinen, zumal die Stücke teilweise von den gleichen Interpreten gespielt werden. Ein Hang zur Abstraktion, zur rhythmischen Widerborstigkeit und harten Konturierung der musikalischen Verläufe ist Beiden gemeinsam, wobei die Argentinierin etwas spontaner operiert als der eher intellektuell gesteuerte Schweizer. Beide lassen auch einen Hang zum Fantastischen durchschimmern – sie mit dynamischer Aufladung, er mit ausgesuchten Klangfarben und Raumwirkungen, wie etwa im Orchesterstück „tenuto, battuto,fulminante“. […]

Artikelnummer

Brand

EAN

Warenkorb